Job hunt radius = world

While worrying about my current state of joblessness late last night, this idea came to me. Wouldn’t it be sort of interesting to visually see where in the world I’ve applied to over the past few months?

I don’t know anyone else who’s ever had the globe as the radius of their job hunt. But I’ve also never been one to follow the road most travelled. Maybe one day I’ll buy property and settle somewhere. For now, though, my desire to continue living abroad and learning about new cultures takes priority number one.

Still, I can’t deny that the thrill of not knowing where I’ll be in a few months is as exhilarating as it makes me feel uneasy. I guess that’s what they call being pushed out of one’s comfort zone.

 

4 thoughts on “Job hunt radius = world

  1. shelleypascual says:

    In regards to what you mentioned about obligations, it’s certainly true that there are some we cannot escape from. This is the reason why I’m just trying to enjoy my life as much as possible now before kids come into the picture, lol. But in addition to that, even if/when I do have kids, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with taking them wherever we are. I’d like them to see the world, too.

    I was recently back home in Toronto over the holidays and real estate was one of the main topics my friends kept talking about. I’ve heard complaints from many of them that it’s very expensive to live in the city – so it sounds similar to Münster. But it just depends on what suits you, I guess. Some of them have chosen to stay in the city (and live in condos) and some of them have chosen to move out into the suburbs (and live in big houses).

    I didn’t know you had a blog until just recently. I’ll be sure to take a look from time to time to see what you’re up to. Fingers crossed that you find a part-time job in the meantime. :)

  2. josiimref says:

    Your words are very inspiring.”Some of us are meant to stay, others are meant to leave.” This is definitely true. You have the inner drive to leave or you don’t. Both ways are ok and totally acceptable. I also like meeting new people and being open towards others is important for me as well. There is nothing worse than to close one’s mind to people and cultures (unless they’re jerks). Being curious should be the first emotion in this respect, not ignorance or intolerance. C is also someone who likes his place, but he also likes to travel when he’s on vacation.

    Regarding the aspect of a structured and planned life I agree with you. Same procedures every day suck. On the other hand there are obligations you cannot evade (escape from) as caring about family or pupils at school etc. I think the most difficult thing is to find a balance between living your own life and not neglecting others.

    Next year we like to build a house next to my parents. This is the ultimate proof of settling isn’t it? Well, somehow it is. When you look at the rental prices and prices for flats and houses in my hometown you lose your mind. It’s crazy. Living in the city is expensive. Having a building site is really precious. What is it like to live in Toronto? Its expensive as well isn’t it?
    On top of this we both have jobs in the area and living on 50m² is limiting. I would speak of a natural cause rather then an expression of settling, but I like it either way.

    I am curious about your next job and your next geographical destination. I will report on my teaching experiences from time to time in my blog Until then I do some kind of side job such as telephone support or selling sandwiches. I don’t know yet, but I am in the searching process.

  3. shelleypascual says:

    Very nice hearing from you, Jose! Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    I like what you mentioned about community. It’s something that isn’t easy for me to build up because of my lifestyle. On the other hand, living in different places ensures that I’m always open to meeting new people. This is important to me because I like surrounding myself with people who also have a love of experiencing the world. And not many of my friends and family back home share that same passion with me.

    Home, for me, will always be Toronto. And I love being there because all of my loved ones are there, but not enough that I feel I have to stay. I think that people don’t necessarily have to live forever wherever they were born or where they grew up. Some of us are meant to stay, others are meant to leave.

    Being slightly scared of the challenges ahead is a good thing! You’re right — we all have to deal with awkward and uncertain situations but I think that’s just the beauty of life. It’d be boring if we didn’t have them, no? ;) It sounds like you’re enjoying the path your life is on, which is great! I’m glad to hear that you’re happy and doing very well for yourself!

    This year, I’m just trying to get my foot in the door in the journalism industry. I’ve applied for jobs, internships and traineeships; I’m open to pursuing any opportunity that comes my way. And I can see myself getting into broadcast journalism in the future, as I really love radio/TV news media.

    Ideally I’d like to continue working in different countries, but I’m pretty open as I know life isn’t as fun when it’s so structured and planned. Luckily, A and I both want to live this sort of lifestyle. Maybe we’ll end up back in Canada in a few years? One day, though, we definitely hope to move back to Australia.

  4. josyimref says:

    I can somehow share your feelings, although our lifestyles differ a lot. You are passionate about travelling, interested in cultures around the world and curious about getting to know as many places and people as possible. I really like my home. I have been living here for all my life, making friends, getting new friends and building up a community here. I am very thankful for having these people and because of them I couldn’t stay elsewhere for a long time. Sometimes I wish to travel – maybe Canada or Iceland (I am not the “tropical”typ, cause I feel like melting butter in 30 degress+ areas..not that comfy)In fact, I think I will go there in the future.
    For now I head towards the official teacher training and this makes me feel happy and as uneasy as you wrote in your article. As the study itself, the idea of becoming a teacher, a person with so much responsibility pulls me out of my comfort zone. I know that I will have my teacher seminar in my hometown, but I don’t know yet which school I will be sent to. I must deal with the school I’ll get either way. During my study study I got a slight impression of how it must be to teach and to be responsible, but now – after leaving the university – I am a little bit scared of the tasks I will carry out and the role I will, finally, take over.
    But I guess this is life and everybody has to deal with awkward and uncertain situations like entering the world of work (maybe this is the most awkward situation ever, isn’t it? So much in linked to the job, friends, family etc.).

    Altogether, staying positive is a good way to handle these moments and not being afraid of what comes next:) Where would you like to be this year and spend your time? Do you want to work as a journalist for television or for a newspaper? Or be something like a “travelling” journalist on your own? Continue blogging and reporting on many different stories world wide?

Leave a Reply

